This is one of the oldest and most beloved churches in Jamaica. Founded in 1664, it was completed in 1700 and is still very much in use. Several additions were made over the centuries to accommodate its ever expanding congregation.
St. Andrew Parish Church has some of the oldest, most beautiful monuments and memorial plaques and the like of any church in Jamaica. A beautiful brass chandelier which was given to the church in 1706 by Sir Nicholas Lawes, Governor of Jamaica from 1718-1722, hangs within its portals to this day.
There are also magnificent stained glass windows together with a number of commemorative stone floor slabs dating from as far back as 1688.
The pipe organ is a relatively new addition and was erected in 1978.